Skip to Content

Taos County

Taos County is the third county included within the Northern Rio Grande National Heritage Area. Its image is linked closely to the Town of Taos and Taos Pueblo, a UNESCO World Heritage Site. The County extends along the Sangre de Cristo range to the Colorado border, and it is the home of world-class ski resorts, high mountain villages, and the Rio Grande Gorge Bridge.

The Rio Grande del Norte National Monument is a recent addition to the natural attractions of the County, adding to the Enchanted Circle Scenic Byway, and historical references in Taos, and the recreational attractions within the Rio Grande Gorge.

Two Tiwa Pueblos are contained within the Taos County boundaries - Taos Pueblo and Picuris Pueblo.

The National Heritage Area is undertaking tourism promotion and cultural conservation activities with the County and the Town of Taos. More details about Taos County can be found on their home page: